lifestyle · Uncategorized

My Current ‘To Be Read’ List 📖

I’ve always loved reading books and being absorbed into another world. I’m a typical escapist, so the thought of opening a book and losing myself between the chapters really gets my senses tingling. I find it really hard to find time to read a good book, once I start a book, I honestly could read non stop. It’s next to impossible to put it down and get back into it a few days later.

I have a bookcase filled to the brim with books and I’m a bit of a hoarder with them too. I just feel really guilty about getting rid of them, even after I read them! I can never seem to buy just one book at a time either, I feel like I need a selection depending on my mood. So as I have so many, I’ve decided that I need to get my butt into gear and get my reading on. Here are my next four reads:

The Kicking Of The Bucket List

Genre: humour, fiction, contemporary romance

SYNOPSIS:

Mum always knows best!

The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.

At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s bucket list’.

But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’ bucket list was about so much more than money.

I’ve been wanting to read this book for ages after reading some amazing reviews about it online. It’s the story of three sisters who are distanced from each other, and their mothers beyond the grave plot to bring them all closer. So many people have recommended this to me, so for these reasons, it’s top of my list! I’ve had it on my shelf for about four months so it’s about time really.

The Night Circus

Genre: fantasy, romance

SYNOPSIS

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway – a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

Oh I do love a good magical kind of tale, especially with a bit of romance in there. I picked this up after a friend of mine recommended it to me. I loved the cover too which initially made me pick it up (yes I know… don’t judge a book by it’s cover but I’m a sucker for pretty things). I’m exited to read this actually, there are so many mixed reviews and misconceptions about this online, I need to see for myself!

Hot Mess

Genre: romance, humour,

SYNOPSIS:

Ellie Knight is just like you. Her life isn’t turning out the way she thought it would. Some people might say she’s a hot mess but then who really has their s**t together anyway?

It’s Valentine’s Day and Ellie finds herself eating Nutella in the bar stockroom after a no-show date. But single doesn’t have to be the loneliest number, does it? She goes back home to her flatshare and weird flatmates. It’s ok there’s black mould everywhere, right? With a hangover from hell, she goes to the office job she thought she would have quit by now. Doesn’t everyone hate their job?

Maybe Ellie isn’t following the *official life plan* but perfect is overrated. For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that everyone will relate to – a modern Carrie Bradshaw meets Bridget Jones.

I read the first few chapters of this not too long ago but lost the book whilst moving house! What I read was so good and I’m really looking forward to getting back into this. Just the title tickles me! It seems like a really funny book and within the first couple of chapters I did read, I found myself relating to Ellie. I’m actually excited to start this fresh! Maybe this book will go to the top of my list.

Lost For Words

Genre: romance, fiction

SYNOPSIS:

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look closely, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are things she’ll never show you.

Fifteen years ago Loveday lost all she knew and loved in one unspeakable night. Now, she finds refuge in the unique little York bookshop where she works.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past. Someone is trying to send her a message. And she can’t hide any longer.

Lost for Words is a compelling, irresistible and heart-rending novel, with the emotional intensity of The Shock of the Fall and all the charm of The Little Paris Bookshop and 84 Charing Cross Road.

Ok this book doesn’t sound like my kind of thing, but don’t judge a book by its cover (or synopsis) and all that. It was recommended to me by one of my customers actually, she said it’s a book about a bookworm and if I love books I’ll love this. I am intrigued to see what I’ll make of this book!

That’s all for this post! Let me know your thoughts and if you’ve read any of these books!

Also – Has anyone got any book suggestions? I’m always up for new read to add to my collection!

Thanks for reading,

Charlie x

2 thoughts on “My Current ‘To Be Read’ List 📖

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s